AGRR™ magazine/glassBYTEs.com™ Message Forum

AGRR Magazine
AGRR™ Magazine

glassBYTEs.com

AGRSS

NWRA

Key Media & Research
Privacy Policy

ATTENTIONThe glassBYTEs.com forum is being retooled and will return with a new look and functionality that will hopefully help our readers even more. Watch for an announcement when it will be ready, it will be a few months.

You can still stay up on daily news and comment on stories by signing up for the glassBYTEs daily e-newsletter at glass.com/subcenter. There is no charge. Hope to see you there!
General Forum
This Forum is Locked
Author
Comment
Getting Off of the Safelite Network

I'm a Sole Proprietor of Pro-Tec Auto Glass working in Florida in the Brevard County area. I started working in the auto glass industry in Colorado when I was 20 years old. I lived overseas for 12 years before coming back to the U.S and starting my own auto glass company in 2008. I'm considering removing my company from the Safelite Network and I'd like to hear from other companies that have done that and their experience with getting jobs and getting paid from the individual insurance companies, if that's how it works. When I started out I was giving Safelite 20-37% off the NAGS, now as most of you know they're seeking over 50%. The majority of the time the job is a referral to my company and rotation jobs from Safelite is nonexistent, but I'm still required to give them the discount.... for what? I would appreciate any information anyone can provide me.

Re: Getting Off of the Safelite Network

Drew,
it is a gamble because you will be considered a non-approved shop for any Insurance company that is managed by S L . (if you opt out)

Although there is nothing wrong with that you will need to be ok with explaining it to your customer without sounding like you are taking offense to the statement.

Get your work approved in advance and know where the billing needs to go.

Be prepared, it may take a longer time to get paid.