AGRR™ magazine/glassBYTEs.com™ Message Forum

AGRR Magazine
AGRR™ Magazine

glassBYTEs.com

AGRSS

NWRA

Key Media & Research
Privacy Policy

ATTENTIONThe glassBYTEs.com forum is being retooled and will return with a new look and functionality that will hopefully help our readers even more. Watch for an announcement when it will be ready, it will be a few months.

You can still stay up on daily news and comment on stories by signing up for the glassBYTEs daily e-newsletter at glass.com/subcenter. There is no charge. Hope to see you there!
General Forum
This Forum is Locked
Author
Comment
DIY windshield replacement

I am living overseas and have a smashed windshield on a newer subaru outback. Seeing as there are no glass professionals around, I have no choice but to bring in a windshield and do it myself. I have never done this before and obviously I want to do it right. I have studied the process and think I have it down. The question is what urethane to buy for a one time installation. The obvious choice is 3M 08609 Window-Weld, as it is available with glass and pinchweld primers on amazon, but the pros don't say much about it. Is is a good urethane and if not, what is that is available online? Drive away time does not matter. Also any tips on tools necessary for a one time install? Again speed is not important but I will buy whatever I need to do it correctly. Any advce is appreciated. Again I would not DIY if I had a choice.

Re: DIY windshield replacement

Where do you live? 3m is junk

Havana, Cuba. I will fly back to Miami to pick up the windshield and whatever materials I need. I ended up reserving a windshield today through safelite, and they said they would include urethane and primer they use for a small charge, so I hope they use the good stuff.

Sam