AGRR™ magazine/glassBYTEs.com™ Message Forum

AGRR Magazine
AGRR™ Magazine

glassBYTEs.com

AGRSS

NWRA

Key Media & Research
Privacy Policy

ATTENTIONThe glassBYTEs.com forum is being retooled and will return with a new look and functionality that will hopefully help our readers even more. Watch for an announcement when it will be ready, it will be a few months.

You can still stay up on daily news and comment on stories by signing up for the glassBYTEs daily e-newsletter at glass.com/subcenter. There is no charge. Hope to see you there!
General Forum
This Forum is Locked
Author
Comment
Thinking about hanging it up...

So after nearly a decade as an independent and fifteen years as a technician I'm thinking about hanging it up. My youngest will be starting kindergarten in a few weeks so I won't need to be home with the kids while my wife is on shift (she's a sheriff's deputy) and I'm quite frankly ready for a new challenge. As an independent I feel like I've worn about every hat there is to wear in the industry and would make for a very knowledgeable team player in a sales, quality assurance, or managerial role. What's the job market like fore old glass guys these days?

AGN

Re: Thinking about hanging it up...

Tough decision i hope it all goes well for you.

AGN
So after nearly a decade as an independent and fifteen years as a technician I'm thinking about hanging it up. My youngest will be starting kindergarten in a few weeks so I won't need to be home with the kids while my wife is on shift (she's a sheriff's deputy) and I'm quite frankly ready for a new challenge. As an independent I feel like I've worn about every hat there is to wear in the industry and would make for a very knowledgeable team player in a sales, quality assurance, or managerial role. What's the job market like fore old glass guys these days?

AGN

Move you live in a tiny town over run by foreign owned companies

True. Competition around here has become insane over the last few years.

AGN