Durant Motors Internet Forum

Our Purpose

Preserve the automobiles manufactured by the Durant Motor Company, provide enjoyment for each member with meets, tours & technical assistance.

This forum is provided by the Durant Motors Automobile Club located at durantmotors.org

How to Add Pictures             Rocky

General Discussion Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Daily Touring Miles

Hello all. I am new to Durant and antique vehicles, but have spent years working on 40s through 70s cars and trucks. I am going on a local tour in my newly acquired A-22 in early May here in northeast Kansas. I am interested in some opinions/tips.

I will be driving 85 to 105 miles towards home after having trailered my car to the far end of the route. My wife and three daughters plan to ride along with me. The trip will include stops in small towns along the route to visit museums and generally take breaks. My car seems to be a pretty good driver, but I just got it this fall and haven't had it out of town as of yet. I have been working on installing new king pins over the winter to try and remedy a front end 'death wobble'. I may have to have the steering box reworked or install a stabilizer pre-trip as well. I am fairly mechanically inclined, and there should be plenty of other old-car folks on this tour to provide emergency help.

My questions are: What should I expect to take with me as far as repair/emergency supplies? What kind of physical difficulty is found in driving an open tourer like this 100 miles in a little more than half a day? Should I count on having a truck and trailer chase team? Should I rest the vehicle for a specific length of time at regular intervals?

I just want to be as prepared as possible. I will of course make sure I am fully lubed, fluids are fresh, etc. I know the specific circumstances vary greatly based on vehicle condition, weather, driving characteristics, etc.