Durant Motors Internet Forum

Our Purpose

Preserve the automobiles manufactured by the Durant Motor Company, provide enjoyment for each member with meets, tours & technical assistance.

This forum is provided by the Durant Motors Automobile Club located at durantmotors.org

How to Add Pictures             Rocky

General Discussion Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
1923 Star Coupe

Hi,
My son and I are looking for some information on my Grandpa's 1923 Star Coupe. Where is the dip stick located and does it come completely out? Our's may be rotted or broke. We also need to replace the MPG/Speedometer gauge and the muffler pipe. Any response would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you.

Where Are You From? Loleta, CA

Do You own a car built by Durant? Yes

Re: 1923 Star Coupe

Hello there. I'm relatively new to Durant, but I might be of some assistance.

I have a Durant, not a Star, but my A-22 has a W4 Star motor in it. Assuming your motor is similar, there is no actual dipstick (at least of the modern variety). I was confused about this as well when I first got the car. There is a wire 'bobber wire' rising vertically on the passenger side of the engine that moves up and down with the oil level. There should be cast marks in the side of the block which demarcate 'fine' and 'low' oil levels. My understanding is that there is a cork of float of some type on the bottom of this wire. You can lightly push the wire down and if there's oil it should kind of slowly bob back up. The biggest downside I can find with this system is that you can't 'see' the oil itself on a dipstick to judge its condition.

Sorry I can't be of more help with the gauge.

On the muffler pipe, I would recommend asking around for a friendly, reliable, reasonably muffler shop that could fab you up the pipe you need.

Welcome to the world of Durant!

Where Are You From? Marysville, Kans

Do You own a car built by Durant? 1923 Durant A-22 Touring