Durant Motors Internet Forum

Our Purpose

Preserve the automobiles manufactured by the Durant Motor Company, provide enjoyment for each member with meets, tours & technical assistance.

This forum is provided by the Durant Motors Automobile Club located at durantmotors.org

How to Add Pictures             Rocky

General Discussion Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
1931 Durant 619

Hello Everyone,
I recently bought a 619 Durant from a salvage yard thinking it would make an awesome hot rod...not initially realizing how rare these vehicles were/are. The salvage yard received the vehicle through an estate sale clean-up and bought it strictly for the steel tonnage and it was just a couple weeks away from being crushed. According to the id/vin plate it was built in Lansing, MI and was the 10th one off of the line in 1931 (#L-1010). I talked to Rick Botti several months ago about this vehicle and have finally gotten around to posting some pictures, etc. I'm currently a student taking street rod and chassis fabrications courses and I wanted to talk to you guys about this vehicle before I proceeded with anything. I was just curious if anyone would want to purchase this vehicle or even trade for a similar late 20's or early 30's passenger vehicle in comparable condition (would prefer a ford model a). Since the pictures I have installed an Essex front end with wood spokes to make it a roller...original front axle is included minus wheels as is the front apron, front seat, taillight housing, wooden interior header board with rear view mirror & windshield wipers and most of the original wooded bows for the roof. What do you guys think?

Pictures can be seen at the following online album...
http://s249.photobucket.com/albums/gg237/ford-farm/Durant/

Re: 1931 Durant 619

With a little expertise that car would be a great project. I agree, it's much too rare to modify into a street rod. It'd be worth more as an investment to build as stock.

Don