Durant Motors Internet Forum

Our Purpose

Preserve the automobiles manufactured by the Durant Motor Company, provide enjoyment for each member with meets, tours & technical assistance.

This forum is provided by the Durant Motors Automobile Club located at durantmotors.org

How to Add Pictures             Rocky

General Discussion Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Editor must be a member?

As a past editor, I would like to say that making membership a requirement for the position of Editor did not help the club in the past. The magazine looks super these days. It takes a lot more time than most people can give, or are willing to give. I would hate to see the magazine slide back to the old days of bleary photos and non-car related subjects.
Tony Burke

Re: Editor must be a member?

There is no logical reason why the editor of the Durant Partner has to be a member of the DMAC. An editor is an editor, they have the journalistic skills to put a magazine together. We, the members, provide the editor with the articles of a technical nature to publish in the magazine. The job of the editor is to make sure that those articles are grammatically correct.

Therefore, there is no reason for the editor to have to be a member of the DMAC, it would be nice, but it should not be mandatory

charlie

Having been an editor for several club magazines I can say that there is very little value to be gained by having this as a requirement. I have found that most editors are members but not always. I was the editor of a Model Railroad magazine for five years and I hadn't owned any rolling stock for twenty five years and i didn't belong to the club. It is a non voting postion where your primary concern is the publication of the magazine no more no less. On the other hand there is nothing stopping an editor from belonging to a club. Just my two cents worth.
Jan

If there is a problem with Jacki not being a member then give her a free membership.problem solved right.