Durant Motors Internet Forum

Our Purpose

Preserve the automobiles manufactured by the Durant Motor Company, provide enjoyment for each member with meets, tours & technical assistance.

This forum is provided by the Durant Motors Automobile Club located at durantmotors.org

How to Add Pictures             Rocky

General Discussion Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Little help here?

I would like to take a few moments of your time to pick your brain about what you are doing with your electrical and gas issues in your Durant. I'm new to restoring a car that is this old and would need some help from some people that have crossed this path before.

Has everyone converted the their car to 12v. power or left it 6v.?

Did you stay with points in the ignition or did you switch over to electronic ignition?

Is there a 6v. starter out there that you can buy?
How about the generator?
Should I switch the generator to an alternator?

The gas issue I know that leaded gas helps in the cooling of the engine. Was there difference when you switched to unleaded gas?
I take it you have to reseat the valves in the block to work with unleaded gas is that all you have to do?

What about using the lead substitute?

I still need a ignition if anyone knows where I can get one that would be fantastic.

Thank you so much for your time,
Adam

Re: Little help here?

I meant to say I'm still looking for a "Ignition switch"

Thanks,
Adam

What is your durant? I kept mine 6volt I have a w5 continental engine with a 27 chev dis. in it just changed drive gear on it and it is points. I use lead additive.but by letting us know what you have will help us help you.

Adam,