This Message Forum is no longer in use

Please use the new Bravenet Help Forums FOUND HERE

General Forum
This Forum is Locked
Author
Comment
Got A Few Issues

ok first off...

1.) Index.html, i cant set this as my homepage, even though it is in the root folder, or at least i think it is. using FTP via dreamweaver CS4, i log into the FTP applet, then the folder web, then the folder with my URL and i have uploaded index.html there.

2.)my template wont appear, i have uploaded all necessary images and .css files but nothing, it appears fine in Dreamweaver Live View and localy, but not on the bravenet server.

Browser: Chrome / Firefox / IE8

Re: Got A Few Issues

Have a look at your code. Your CSS is being linked to your computer - you need to edit it so it is being referenced off your website. At least take out all the stuff before it so it only says "default.css"

Courtnie

ok, im not good at this coding, but im ok with the basic stuff.

am i correct in thinking you want me to edit the parts with URL in the .CSS file?

.bg4 { background: url(images/img08.gif) no-repeat left bottom; }
.bg5 { background: url(images/img09.gif) no-repeat left bottom; }
.bg6 { background: url(images/img10.gif) no-repeat right bottom; }
.bg7 { background: url(images/img11.gif) no-repeat right bottom; }

your wanting me the change the part that reads URL to the actual URL of my site?

No, in your HTML. The CSS is called in

Code:
<link href="/C|/Users/The Tech Guru/Desktop/Canvass/1. Source/default.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />

It is trying to take it right off your computer.

Try:

Code:
<link href="default.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />

ok, i got all that sorted on all of my pages and templates, but still i cant seem to figure out the homepage stuff, its in the root folder, but its still www.thetechguru-horseisleguide.co.cc/index.html and not just the simple URL