AGRR™ magazine/glassBYTEs.com™ Message Forum

AGRR Magazine
AGRR™ Magazine

glassBYTEs.com

AGRSS

NWRA

Key Media & Research
Privacy Policy

ATTENTIONThe glassBYTEs.com forum is being retooled and will return with a new look and functionality that will hopefully help our readers even more. Watch for an announcement when it will be ready, it will be a few months.

You can still stay up on daily news and comment on stories by signing up for the glassBYTEs daily e-newsletter at glass.com/subcenter. There is no charge. Hope to see you there!
General Forum
This Forum is Locked
Author
Comment
2 person windshield install

I am new to the autoglass business and learning more and more. I was wondering how many people out there use the 2 person set for an install or do you just have one person try to do it? Do you see an increase in injuries when using only one installer? Any feed back would be appreciated. Thanks.

Re: 2 person windshield install

Been doing all 2 person sets over 15 years now and will continue to do so. Fancy setting tools are all good and fine but I will go 2 person sets all day long.

The solo, or the lil buddy both do an excellent job, a stick beats a hand from someone that does not know what they are doing. With that being said even when I could use a knowledgeable person I would use the setting tool. But I don't need someone in my way either. I like to work alone, then my tools do not get misplaced and things do not get out of order.

I started out installing with a second person then slowly started installing alone with the 2nd person guiding me. I never really learned how to install with a setting tool when i came in the business. But it is good to learn how to use it, in case you run into a vehicle with a roof rack. Just hang in there you will not learn over night and mistakes are ok as long as you do not do the same mistake twice. Just my opinion. Good Luck