Welcome to my forum connected to countdownmemories.com

Discuss everything COUNTDOWN and beyond!

Countdown Episodes * 70s & 80s Australian Music Programs * Music Video * Molly
Trading *  Collecting * Archival Information * Record/CD releases and more .........

COUNTDOWN IS BACK THIS JANUARY, 2019 ...  ON rage !!!!!
Stay tuned below with regular Countdown full archival information for each Countdown episode rage shall be airing every Saturday throughout January ...

Countdownmemories.com forum
Start a New Topic 
1 2 3 4 5 6
Author
Comment
Countdown - Digital File Sharing

Hi All,

First of all, Jason, if this contravenes any rules please edit / delete to your discretion.

Just wanted to open this up to discussion. I've been a long time fan of Countdown (Now in my late forties) and watched it live with great relish during my early years and into my teens when it sadly ended. I've been taping Retro Month on and off since 1993 so I have a fairly large collection of Countdown Eps( transferred to DVD from VHS, straight to DVD from digital ) but have also missed quite a few. I've also gone to some lengths to author my DVD's on Dual Layer dics ( 4 eps ) and chapter all the performances, humdrums, top tens, printed covers etc.

I'm in the same position as others where I have missed episodes and several posters on this forum have come to my rescue but am still missing episodes. In most cases someone kindly says "PM me and I can burn you a copy" etc

Has anyone here considered sharing their Eps digitally? P2P / Fileshare ( dropbox / google / mega ). Is the lack of digital sharing with the community because of technical constraints ( slow down / up speeds) Is it digital snobbery? (i.e I want only episodes in HD using H.264 codec ?) or is it just a general feeling that this is far too complicated ?