Durant Motors Internet Forum

Our Purpose

Preserve the automobiles manufactured by the Durant Motor Company, provide enjoyment for each member with meets, tours & technical assistance.

This forum is provided by the Durant Motors Automobile Club located at durantmotors.org

How to Add Pictures             Rocky

General Discussion Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Front brake recommendation

I've been having trouble with my front brakes for a few years now my 6-14 has been converted to hydrulic brakes and had a set of drums of a 67 chevy 1/2 ton I've been having tons of trouble stoping and have had wheel cylinders rip out of the backing plate. I'm an automotive student and took the car to my school and had my instructor take a look and they turn out to be rear brakes off a Chevy 1/2 ton not front brakes.

I want to go ahead and replace them with a different set of drums what will withstand stoping. Does anyone have any recommendations? what worked good on your car?

I am also not against putting front discs on it. OUr Durant spindels and hubs similer to ford? they sell many converision kits for model A's and what not.

any feedback will be apreacated!
I just want to be able to drive the **** thing and not have to run red lights at 35mph due to my inibility to stop.

thanks,

-Phillip

Where Are You From? Moreno Valley CA

Do You own a car built by Durant? 1930 6-14

Re: Front brake recommendation

dear durant friend...
a set of 1954 chevy 1/2 ton brakes complete mounted on the 54 chevy truck front axle will bolt on to the 1930 6-14 springs ....you must then deal with the pitman arm connection...much easier task than brake drum and backing plate mismatches....use 6 bolt drums or switch for 54 chevy passenger drums which are 5 bolt chevy ....or buy a set of 6 bolt 1930's chevy 19" wire wheels and look deluxe.

refer to "How to build a chevy hot rod"

hope that helps...i bolted th 54 axle to my 1929 model 70 coupe easily

Where Are You From? penna.