This Forum is Locked
Author
Comment
The URL is wonky on some pages

On my Home Page my url appears correctly, as
http://reflexologybyestee.com/index.html/
but on subsequent pages, it does a repeat ... a repeat... like this
http://reflexologybyestee.com/index.html/index_files/Reflexology.htm
and then shows the rest of the pages ... Does anyone know why this is happening? I am a newbie at website building. I need a simple easy-to-understand explanation.

Browser: estee_tx@hotmail.com,3

Re: The URL is wonky on some pages

Oh, my God! You have been trying to make webpages in Word or some other such Office product, haven't you?
Well, forget it. Use them for their designated purpose. The only Microsoft product that can be used for making webpages is Notepad.

For those who wonder - like I did - what this crazy person is talking about, the website is supposed to look like this:

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Why do I need to tell people that? Because in Opera and Firefox the website looks like this:
Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Notice the scrollbar? But the missing stuff isn't off to the right somewhere. It is all white for about 40 screens, and then turns into a black background. Nothing else.

My guess is that width:7.9319in is interpreted as 79319 pixels, inches being a fairly meaningless term here. But never mind, we aren't looking for some quick fix here, Microsoft Office pages can be edited to produce something that more or less works. But it is a lot more effort than simply starting over, even if that includes learning HTML from scratch.

The good news is that when you do this, the problem you originally posted about will take care of itself. The insane idea that people will want their files in subdirectories named index_files, pagetwo_files etc is unique to Microsoft.

I used Microsoft Publisher to create my website.
Hmmmmm ...
ESTEE

Re: Re: The URL is wonky on some pages